Baking

Vanilla Bean Cupcakes with Vanilla Bean Buttercream Frosting


This time I felt adventureous and decided to make something that required a lot of steps. My family was going to come over on the weekend and I wanted to make something simple that everyone would like. I had been wanting to make vanilla Bean Cupcakes ever since they discontinued them from Panera. Those were delicious. I don’t exactly know if they discontinued them but, every time my boyfriend and I go, they don’t have them. 

So I looked for the recipe in joythebaker.com and let me tell you, it’s so hard to find vanilla beans! The only place that had them near me was Walmart.

Turn on your oven at 350 degrees and make sure the racks are positioned in the upper thrived of your oven.

I use my iPad to display the recipes. I like this better than printing out the recipes, because they’ll end up dirty by the time I finish LOL. 

I started off with whisking together the flour, salt and baking powder in medium bowl.

And then, because I was lazy and did not feel like washing a lot of dishes, I whisked together the milk, vanilla extract and half of a vanilla bean’s seeds in the same container.

After this step, go to your stand mixer and add the softened butter and the sugar.

Cream them for 3-5 minutes. And then add eggs one by one until fully incorporated.

Next, you’ll have to alternate in three batches between inputting the flour mixture and the milk mixture. Make sure you start and end with the flour mixture and have the mixer on the lowest speed.

Before it’s all combined, scrape the sides and the bottom of the bowl and mix my hand until it’s all incorporated.


Use an ice cream scoop to pour the batter into a lined cupcake pan.

Bake for 25 minutes. 

Wait for them to cool in the pan for 10 minutes before taking them out. 

Wait until they are completely cooled to frost, I put mine in the refrigerator to help speed up the process. And then I used a vanilla Bean frosting recipe from SalysBakingAddiction.com. You can use the chocolate frosting but I’m honestly not a big fan of chocolate in baking (except for like chocolate chip cookies 🍪). Besides I wanted to copy the Panera Cupcakes! 


And this is the final result ❤️ I hope you guys try them!

Leave a Reply

