Baking

Sugar Cookies with Cinnamon Nutmeg Icing

Christmas in a cookie!

1a

Hello again! Welcome back! Long time no see!

This past year was pretty exciting and there was a lot that happened, I graduated from college and had my first job!

I did not do much baking last year since finals were in the way, and I almost feel like I fell in love with baking all over again. I noticed that I always go back to baking when I am feeling stressed. So in this particular time I was feeling  stressed and sad because my grandma left us on Christmas. It’s still hard to think about and it hurts a lot. she was like our queen bee, and the amount of love she had for our whole family does not compare to anything in this world.

I baked these cookies on December 27. The main reason why I felt like baking was because I felt so disconnected from Christmas last year that I felt like this would somehow make me feel a little better. Normally my sister and I are always excited about decorating for Christmas and the whole season all around (both our birthdays are in December as well). We are those people that do not wait for Thanksgiving to pass in order to decorate for Christmas.

This recipe I found from Taylor Swift’s tumblr where a fan asked her how to bake those cookies. Anyone who knows me knows that i LOVE TS and anyone who follows my social media know that she follows me on Tumblr 🙂

I used the recipe from scratch but I excluded the Chai tea packet in the batter because i do not know if i like Chai tea and i also excluded the eggnog in the frosting.

Beat butter, add vegetable oil and beat. Then add granulated sugar, powdered sugar, egg and vanilla. This is the part where Taylor adds the Chai tea packet (emptied and crushed).

Taylor Swift’s Tumblr Post

Add the flour, baking soda and salt and beat on low speed. Freeze dough for 15 minutes to let it firm up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Form into balls and bake for 12-14 minutes.

This is where i decided to make icing, i mixed powdered sugar, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Then i added 3 tbs of milk (Taylor used the eggnog instead of milk).

img_1393

Sprinkle a little bit of cinnamon on top and this is the final result! They taste like Christmas in your mouth!

 

Original Sugar Cookie recipeGiant Vanilla Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

